Culture & Recreation

» Campus tours
» Choirs and orchestras
» University sports
» University Archive
» University collections

  

Campus Tours

Rediscover special locations, explore the history of the construction and development of the Gutenberg Campus, experience nature, find out more about large research facilities and much more... There are many different theme-based campus tours. The choices include:

» Guided campus tour with the 'Geography for Everybody' society' (German)

Please ask about the campus tour (fee charged). 


» Tours and events in the Botanic Garden

Gutenberg alumni also can take part in enchanting evening tours on request (fee charged).


» Come and explore the TRIGA research reactor at our Institute of Nuclear Chemistry 

» Come and explore the MAMI particle accelerator at our Institute of Nuclear Physics  (German)

 

Choirs and orchestras

Sing or play in the various ensembles of the long-established Collegium musicum directed by Professor Felix Koch:

» Collegium musicum

The Orchestral Academy of the Collegium musicum also offers Gutenberg alumni instrument lessons at reduced prices depending on available capacities. Contact the administration office of the Collegium musicum for more information ( ) !       


UniVoices, the Jazz Choir at JGU, is jointly run by the Mainz School of Music and the Center for Continuing Education. The choir's conductor is Regina Klein. Gutenberg alumni do not have to pay membership fees!

» UniVoices


The Mainz Medical Orchestra is composed of music enthusiasts among the students and employees at the Mainz University Medical Center and other faculties. Gutenberg alumni are more than welcome to join! The orchestra is conducted by Thomas Hopp 

» Mainz Medical Orchestra (German)

 

University sports

Join us for your workout: members of the Verein zur Förderung des Hochschulsports e.V can participate in general university sports and in a large number of university sports events. For more information, please go to the General University Sports website:

» General University Sports Website (German)

 

University Archive

Find your university calendars, read interviews from the time following the reopening of JGU in 1946, search the university annals, or simply browse historic material on the university – click here to access the digital resources in the JGU archive:

» Travel back in time using the university archive (German)


University Collections

Did you know that JGU is home to more than thirty collections on various themes? They provide the opportunity for applied research in that they hold important objects that have an instructional, academic and historic use as well as some very high-quality valuable items. Discover the hidden treasures! Tours can be arranged on request.
A number of collections have already been profiled in our JGU Magazine – read more here --»

» University Collections (German)

Kultur & Freizeit

» Campus-Führungen
» Chöre und Orchester
» Hochschulsport
» Universitätsarchiv
» Universitätssammlungen

  

Campus-Führungen

Besondere Orte wiederfinden, Baugeschichte und -entwicklung auf dem Gutenberg-Campus nachvollziehen, Natur aktiv erleben, Forschungsgroßgeräte kennen lernen... Zu vielen Themen gibt es Campus-Führungen. Wählen Sie aus:

» Campus-Führung mit dem Verein "Geographie für alle"

Bitte fragen Sie die Campus-Führung an (Kostenbeitrag). 


» Führungen und Veranstaltungen im Botanischen Garten

Exklusiv für Gutenberg-Alumni werden auf Wunsch auch stimmungsvolle Abendführungen angeboten (Kostenbeitrag).


» Besuch des Forschungsreaktors "TRIGA" am Institut für Kernchemie 

» Besuch des Teilchenbeschleunigers "MAMI" am Institut für Kernphysik    

 

Chöre und Orchester

Singen oder spielen Sie mit bei den verschiedenen Ensembles des traditionsreichen Collegium musicum unter der Leitung von Prof. Felix Koch:

» Collegium musicum

Im Rahmen der Orchesterakademie des Collegium musicum besteht für Gutenberg-Alumni darüber hinaus nach Maßgabe verfügbarer Kapazitäten auch die Möglichkeit, Instrumentalunterricht zu günstigen Bedingungen zu erhalten. Wenden Sie sich an das Betriebsbüro des Collegium musicum ( ) !       


UniVoices, der Jazzchor der JGU, ist ein gemeinsames Angebot der Hochschule für Musik und des Zentrums für wissenschaftliche Weiterbildung. Der Chor wird von Regina Klein geleitet. Für Gutenberg-Alumni entfällt die Teilnahmegebühr!

» UniVoices


Im "Mainzer Medizinerorchester"  finden sich musikbegeisterte Studierende und Beschäftigte aus der Universitätsmedizin, aber auch anderer Fachbereiche, zusammen. Gutenberg-Alumni sind herzlich eingeladen! Das Orchester steht unter der Leitung von Thomas Höpp. 

» Mainzer Medizinerorchester

 

Hochschulsport

Sport treiben auf dem Campus: Mitgliedern des Vereins zur Förderung des Hochschulsports e.V. ermöglicht der Allgemeine Hochschulsport die Teilnahme an einem Großteil der Hochschulsport-Veranstaltungen. Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie auf den Seiten des AHS:

» Allgemeiner Hochschulsport

 

Universitätsarchiv

Finden Sie "Ihre" Vorlesungsverzeichnisse, lesen Sie Zeitzeugeninterviews aus der Zeit nach der Wiedereröffnung 1946, durchsuchen Sie die Chronik der Universität oder stöbern Sie einfach ein bisschen - hier geht es zu den digitalen Quellen im Archiv der JGU:

» Im Universitätsarchiv auf Zeitreise gehen


Universitätssammlungen

Wussten Sie, dass die JGU über rund dreißig Sammlungen aus den verschiedensten Fachkontexten verfügt? Sie sind Orte angewandter Forschung und weisen nicht nur über bedeutende Objekte von didaktischem, wissenschaftlichem und wissenschaftshistorischem Wert auf,  sondern auch qualitativ hochstehende Exponate. Entdecken Sie verborgene Schätze - Führungen sind auf Wunsch und Nachfrage möglich.
Eine Reihe von Sammlungen wurde im JGU-Magazin bereits vorgestellt - lesen Sie mehr --»

» Universitätssammlungen