Gutenberg Alumni

The network of Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz

You are the ambassadors of Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz – more than 100,000 Gutenberg alumni are nationally and internationally engaged in politics, business, science, society, and culture.

And this number is continuously growing. Every year, more than 3,500 JGU graduates start their professional careers. Just like former lecturers, employees, and researcher alumni, they keep in contact with their alma mater and help create a diverse and lively network. Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz places great value on building and maintaining links with its alumni worldwide.
.  

Gutenberg Alumni: Who belongs?

The term 'alumnus' (Latin for pupil, from alere = to nurture, raise, feminine form alumna) was originally used to designate a student of a so-called alumnat, i.e., a boarding school. It is now used generally for people who have spent time at a university or in an organization. In our view, anyone who has studied, taught, researched, or worked in some other fashion at Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz qualifies as an alumna or alumnus of JGU. Current members of the university also qualify.

Register - we would love to have you!

Your free membership of the Gutenberg alumni network includes a subscription to the alumni newsletter and, if you wish, a life-long JGU alumni email address. And there is much more on offer.

The inner circle of our network is composed of numerous decentralized alumni groups, alumni societies, and associations of friends. They offer service, events, and publications which provide, in good university tradition, the opportunity to stay in touch with other alumni and friends of the faculty, the institute, or division of Mainz University.

Discover topics, options, and opportunities for you at JGU. 

 

Register now free of charge

Gutenberg-Alumni

Das Netzwerk der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz

Sie sind die Botschafter der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz - mehr als 100.000 Gutenberg-Alumni stehen national und international in Politik, Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft, Gesellschaft und Kultur in der Verantwortung.

Und ihre Zahl steigt kontinuierlich: Jedes Jahr starten über 3.500 Absolventinnen und Absolventen von der JGU aus in ihre berufliche Karriere. Sie halten - ebenso wie ehemals Lehrende, Beschäftigte oder Forscher-Alumni - Kontakt zu ihrer Alma Mater und bilden ein vielfältiges und lebendiges Netzwerk. Diese Verbindung mit ihren Alumni weltweit ist der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz ein besonderes Anliegen.  

Gutenberg-Alumni: Wer gehört dazu?

Der Begriff „Alumnus" (lateinisch "Zögling", von alere = ernähren, aufziehen, weibliche Form Alumna) bezeichnete ursprünglich Schüler eines Alumnats (einer Schul- oder Erziehungsanstalt). Heute sind damit allgemein Personen gemeint, die eine bestimmte Zeit an einer Hochschule oder in einem Unternehmen verbracht haben. Nach unserem Verständnis sind alle, die an der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz studiert, gelehrt, geforscht oder in anderen Zusammenhängen gearbeitet haben, umfasst. Auch alle derzeitigen Universitätsangehörigen gehören zu unserem Verbund.

Melden Sie sich an - wir freuen uns auf Sie!

Mit der kostenlosen Mitgliedschaft im Netzwerk der Gutenberg-Alumni können Sie unseren Alumni-Newsletter abonnieren, erhalten auf Wunsch eine "ewige" Alumni-Mailadresse der JGU und vieles mehr.

Den inneren Kreis unseres Netzwerks bilden zahlreiche fachbezogene Alumni-Initiativen, Alumni-Vereinigungen und Freundeskreise. Sie pflegen mit eigenen Angeboten, mit Veranstaltungen und Publikationen in guter universitärer Tradition die Verbindung zu Freunden und Ehemaligen eines Fachbereichs, einer Einrichtung oder eines Instituts.

Entdecken Sie Themen, Angebote und Ihre Möglichkeiten an der JGU. 

 

Jetzt kostenfrei anmelden