Using expertise

Support students and young graduates at JGU and help them launch and develop their careers. You also stand to gain - in the form of insight into the situation of young researchers and artists, with new perspectives and ideas, with an expansion of your own network. Would you like to share your experience and contribute your expertise? JGU offers a vast array of possibilities:

» Profile your organization in our "Start a career at..." series
» Host professional practice workshops
» Offer students or young graduates an internship
» Allow yourself to be 'shadowed'
» Become a mentor

 

Profile your organization in our "Start a career at..." series

Concept: You profile your organization and the job opportunities you can offer university graduates: Your presentation is followed by a question and answer session in which students can find out about required qualifications and entry-level opportunities, characteristic job profiles as well as about your own professional background.
"Starting at..." is an event series hosted by the JGU Career Service.
Time requirements:
Approx. two hours on site (about an hour for the presentation, around 30 minutes Q&A session/discussion, plus preparation time)
Dates: During the semesters (April to July, October to February)
Interested? We would be happy to adapt the event to your wants and needs.

» Additional information and contact details

 

          

Host professional practice workshops

Concept:
You can use the professional practice workshops offered during the 'Spring and Fall University' program of the Career Service to inform students and graduates about starting a career in your business. The practical exercises offered will also include the routine tasks associated with the particular professional field.
Time requirements: A workshop lasts between five and eight hours, depending on the subject, content and number of participants. Two-day workshops are also possible, if desired
Dates: Approx. mid-April and mid-October (in the two weeks prior to the start of lectures)
Interested? The Career Service Team will be happy to help with planning and will find suitable participants for your workshop

» Additional Information and contact details

 

 

Offer students or young graduates an internship

Does your organization use interns? Then give a JGU student the chance to complete an internship in Germany or abroad and advertise it through our online internship and job portal. Part-time posts can also be offered.

Interested? Simply mail a PDF document or link to . Publication is free of charge for you and your advert will remain available to the students and graduates at JGU for about four weeks.

» Additional Information and contact details


Allow yourself to be 'shadowed'

Job shadowing is a new option offered as part of the 'Female Students Plan a CAREER' program with the help of which you can actively support female students who wish to take up a profession. Job shadowing also provides participating organizations with the opportunity to get to know enthusiastic and well-educated female JGU students and present themselves as attractive potential employers.

Concept: You offer female JGU students and recent graduates the opportunity to accompany you during your daily work for a short period of time (one to three days). The students and graduates are there merely to observe but not to work as in the case of an internship.
Time requirements: Flexible; one to three days
Dates: Flexible
Interested? Use the online form (German) provided by the Office of Gender Affairs and Equal Opportunity at JGU to enter your organization profile and register so that your organization and the shadowing position will appear online. Participation is free of charge and you can select 'your' candidate from up to ten applications for the advertised post.

» Additional information and contact details (German)


Become a mentor

Mentoring programs are established tools for targeted human resources development and the promotion and mentoring of young research talents. Mentoring has proven particularly effective in promoting equal opportunities over the past few years. As a mentor, you will support your mentee over a defined period to help them in developing their professional identity. You act as contact and discussion partner, share your experience with the mentee, provide advice and describe potential prospects.

There are various programs at JGU designed for the promotion and mentoring of young research or artistic talents that provide the opportunity of becoming a mentor. Gutenberg alumni are particularly welcome here!


Ada Lovelace Mentoring Program

The Ada Lovelace Mentoring Program is designed to support excellent young female scientists undertaking research in the fields of the natural sciences, mathematics, and computer science. It helps female doctoral candidates and postdoctoral researchers to obtain information and forge personal contacts through networking with management personnel with a similar background working for businesses, university or non-university research facilities, government organizations, the media, and non-profit organizations.

The mentees can gain first-hand insight into professions, establish professional contacts, and gain qualifications that will help them with the job application procedure and in the transition to a profession. Mentors profit from up-to-date research input, direct contact with the university, and have the opportunity to pass on their experience to future leaders in their field.

The Ada Lovelace Mentoring Program is sponsored by Faculties 08, 09, and 10 of Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz and the Helmholtz Institute Mainz in cooperation with the Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research in Mainz. The project is named after the British mathematician Ada Countess of Lovelace (1815-1852), who is regarded as the world's first computer programmer. The ADA programming language was named after this pioneer of computer science.

Concept: Experienced mentors chaperon mentees on a one-to-one basis over a period of 12 months. A structured seminar program and group coaching sessions are provided to help program participants to decide what path they should take and to assist them in obtaining the necessary skills that will enable them to achieve their professional goals.
Time required: 
Mentor and mentee should meet at least once every 3 months. Participation in the induction and concluding events, the "Ada Lovelace meets..." networking sessions, and the mentor meetings is optional.
Dates: Those interested to act as mentors can be included in the program at any time and will be officially introduced at the commencement of each program cycle in April.
Interested? » Additional information and contact details (German)



Christine de Pizan Mentoring Program

The Christine de Pizan Program is a joint project that supervised by the Gender Equality Representative at JGU, the humanities, sociology and economics faculties, Mainz School of Music and Mainz Academy of Arts. The program focuses on young scientists and artists in these fields who wish to pursue an academic career and take on leadership responsibilities. The program is named for the French writer and philosopher Christine de Pizan (1365 - 1430), who was the first female author in French literature able to live from her work.

Concept: Within a one-to-one mentoring concept, experienced mentors with a university, non-university or artistic background personally assist mentees over an entire year. A framework program provides mentees with opportunities for reflection, networking and continuing education.
Time required: Roughly four personal meetings over a period of 12 months (= a program cycle); kick-off and concluding events (optional)
Dates: The dates for the personal meetings are flexible
Interested? » Additional information and contact details (German)



Edith Heischkel Mentoring Program (Mainz University Medical Center)

The Mainz University Medical Center uses the Edith Heischkel Mentoring Program to promote highly qualified young female researchers in various but generally natural science subjects. The program is named for Prof. Dr. Edith Heischkel-Artelt, who was the first female Full Professor of Medicine at JGU.

Concept: Within a one-to-one mentoring concept, experienced mentors with a business or university background personally assist mentees over an entire year. The program is supplemented by workshops and networking events for mentees.
Time required:
Roughly four personal meetings over a period of 12 months (= a program cycle)
Dates: flexible
Interested? » Additional Information and contact details (German)

     

mentMAINZ
MAterials science IN mainZ (MAINZ) graduate school mentoring program

Doctoral candidates at the MAINZ graduate school may apply for the mentMAINZ mentoring program. The focus is on professional orientation in the period following completion of the doctorate. The purpose of mentoring is to give doctoral candidates a clear idea about their professional opportunities, find helpful strategies for achieving goals and expanding their network of professional contacts. Depending on their intended profession, the doctoral candidates will be assigned mentors with a business, science, management or service industry/consultancy background. Most mentees request a mentor with a materials science or natural science background.

Concept:

Within a one-to-one mentoring concept, the mentors personally assist mentees over an entire year. It is desirable that there are four personal meetings between the mentor and mentee in this period. The 12-month mentoring relationship is embedded in an 18-month process with group coaching sessions for professional orientation.

Time required:
Four personal meetings over a period of 12 months (= a program cycle)      
Dates: Annual program start
Mentoring begins in July or August
Interested? » Additional Information and contact details

Expertise einbringen

Unterstützen Sie Studierende und junge Absolventinnen und Absolventen der JGU beim Berufseinstieg und in ihrer Karriereentwicklung. Sie selbst gewinnen auch dabei - nämlich Einblicke in die Situation des wissenschaftlichen oder künstlerischen Nachwuchses, neue Impulse und Sichtweisen, eine Erweiterung ihres eigenen Netzwerks. Möchten Sie Erfahrungen weitergeben und Ihre Expertise einbringen? Dafür gibt es an der JGU viele Möglichkeiten:

» Präsentieren Sie Ihr Unternehmen in der Reihe "Berufseinstieg bei..."
» Geben Sie berufspraktische Workshops
» Bieten Sie Praktika an
» Lassen Sie sich "beschatten"
» Werden Sie Mentorin oder Mentor

 

Präsentieren Sie Ihr Unternehmen in der Reihe "Berufseinstieg bei..."

Format: Sie stellen Ihr Unternehmen und Ihre Berufsangebote für Hochschulabsolventinnen und -absolventen vor: Vortrag und Fragerunde mit Studierenden zu Anforderungsprofilen und Einstiegsmöglichkeiten, typische Aufgabenbereiche sowie den eigenen Weg in den Beruf.
"Berufseinstieg bei..." ist eine Veranstaltungsreihe des Career Service der JGU.
Zeitaufwand: ca. zwei Stunden vor Ort (rund eine Stunde Vortrag, rund 30 Minuten Fragerunde/Diskussion, zuzügl. Rüstzeit)
Termine: jeweils während der Vorlesungszeit (April bis Juli, Oktober bis Februar)
Interessiert? Gern kann die Veranstaltung Ihren Wünschen und Bedürfnissen angepasst werden.

» Weitere Informationen und Kontakt

        

Geben Sie berufspraktische Workshops

Format: Die berufspraktischen Workshops im Rahmen der "Frühjahrs- und Herbstuniversität" des Career Service informieren Studierende bzw. Absolventinnen und Absolventen über den Berufseinstieg in Ihrem Unternehmen. Praktische Übungen sollen zugleich typische Aufgaben in einem bestimmten Berufsbereich verdeutlichen.
Zeitaufwand: Dauer eines Workshops zwischen fünf bis acht Stunden, je nach Thema, Inhalt und Teilnehmerzahl. Auch zweitägige Workshops sind möglich, wenn gewünscht.
Termine: ca. Mitte April und Mitte Oktober (jeweils in den beiden Wochen vor Vorlesungsbeginn)
Interessiert? Das Team des Career Service unterstützt Sie gerne bei der Planung und wählt geeignete Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer für Ihren Workshop aus.

» Weitere Informationen und Kontakt


 

Bieten Sie Studierenden oder jungen AbsolventInnen ein Praktikum

Beschäftigt Ihr Unternehmen Praktikantinnen und Praktikanten? Dann geben Sie doch Studierenden der JGU die Chance, ein Praktikum im In- oder Ausland zu absolvieren und inserieren Sie in der Online Praktikums- und Stellenbörse. Auch Nebentätigkeiten können gerne angeboten werden. 

Interessiert? Mailen Sie einfach ein pdf-Dokument oder einen Link an . Die Veröffentlichung ist für Sie kostenfrei und für die Studierenden und Absolventinnen und Absolventen der JGU in der Regel für die Dauer von vier Wochen zugänglich.

» Weitere Informationen und Kontakt

 

 

Lassen Sie sich "beschatten"

Job Shadowing ist ein neues Angebot des Projekts „Studentinnen planen KARRIERE“, mit dem Sie Studentinnen der JGU in ihrer Berufswegeplanung aktiv unterstützen können. Den beteiligten Unternehmen bietet das Job Shadowing im Gegenzug die Chance, engagierte und gut ausgebildete Studentinnen der JGU kennenzulernen und sich als attraktive Arbeitgeber zu präsentieren.

Format: Sie bieten Studentinnen und junge Absolventinnen der JGU die Möglichkeit, Sie in Ihrem Arbeitsgebiet über einen kurzen Zeitraum (ein Tag bis drei Tage) zu begleiten. Die Studentinnen und Absolventinnen nehmen dabei - anders als in einem Praktikum - eine beobachtende Rolle ein.
Zeitaufwand flexibel ein Tag bis drei Tage
Termine: flexibel
Interessiert? Tragen Sie Ihr Unternehmensprofil über das Onlineformular des Büros für Frauenförderung und Gleichstellung der JGU ein und melden Sie damit Ihr Unternehmen und die möglichen Job Shadowing-Positionen online an. Die Teilnahme ist kostenlos, und Sie können "Ihre" Kandidatin aus bis zu zehn Bewerbungen auf die ausgeschriebene Position auswählen.

» Direkt anmelden und Job Shadowing Positionen anbieten
» Weitere Informationen und Kontakt

 

Werden Sie Mentorin oder Mentor

Mentoring-Programme sind ein etabliertes Instrument zur gezielten Personalentwicklung und Nachwuchsförderung. Insbesondere unter dem Aspekt der Chancengleichheit hat sich Mentoring in den letzten Jahren bewährt. Als Mentorin oder Mentor unterstützen Sie Ihre Mentee innerhalb eines festgelegten Zeitraums in der Entwicklung ihrer beruflicher Identität. Sie sind Gesprächs- und Diskussionspartner/in, lassen die Mentee an Ihren Erfahrungen teilhaben, geben Rat und zeigen Perspektiven auf.    

An der JGU besteht im Rahmen verschiedener Programme zur Förderung des wissenschaftlichen oder künstlerischen Nachwuchses die Möglichkeit, Mentorin oder Mentor zu werden. Gutenberg-Alumni und -Alumnae sind hier besonders willkommen!
 

Ada Lovelace Mentoring-Programm

Das Ada Lovelace Mentoring Programm richtet sich speziell an exzellente Nachwuchswis-senschaftlerinnen aus den Naturwissenschaften, der Mathematik und Informatik.Es ermöglicht Doktorandinnen und Postdocs informative und persönliche Kontakte zu Führungskräften mit ähnlichem fachlichen Hintergrund aus Wirtschaftsunternehmen, (außer-)universitären Forschungseinrichtungen, aus dem Öffentlichen Dienst, den Medien oder aus Non-Profit-Organisationen.

Ziel ist es, Einblicke in zukünftige Berufsfelder zu ermöglichen, berufliche Kontakte zu knüpfen und Qualifikationen zu erwerben, die die Bewerbungsphase und den Berufseinstieg erleichtern. MentorInnen profitieren durch den forschungsaktuellen fachlichen Input, den direkten Kontakt zur Universität und der Möglichkeit, exzellenten Wissenschaftlerinnen ihre Erfahrungen weiterzugeben

Das Ada Lovelace Mentoring Programm wird gefördert von den Fachbereichen 08, 09 und 10 der JGU sowie dem Helmholtz-Institut Mainz und kooperiert mit dem Max-Planck-Institut für Polymerforschung. Das Projekt ist benannt nach der britischen Mathematikerin Ada Countess of Lovelace (1815-1852), die als erste Programmiererin der Welt gilt. Als Vordenkerin der Informatik wurde die Programmiersprache ADA nach ihr benannt.

Format: Erfahrende MentorInnen aus Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und anderen Einrichtungen begleiten in einem One-to-One Mentoring die Mentee über zwölf Monate. Ein strukturiertes Seminarpro-gramm und Gruppencoaching unterstützen den Qualifizierungs- und Reflexionsprozess der Teilnehmerinnen im Hinblick auf ihre beruflichen Ziele.
Zeitaufwand: Gewünscht ist ein Treffendes Mentoring-Tandems im Quartal. Die Teilnahme an Auftakt- und Abschlussveranstaltung, am Networking „Ada Lovelace meets…“ und MentorInnen-Treffen sind fakultativ.
Termine: Interessierte Personen werden ganzjährig aufgenommen und beim nächsten Programmbeginn (April) als MentorIn eingebunden.
Interessiert? » Weitere Informationen und Kontakt

 


Christine de Pizan Mentoring-Programm

Das Christine de Pizan-Programm ist ein Kooperationsprojekt der Gleichstellungsbeauftragten der JGU und den geistes- sozial- und wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fachbereichen sowie der Hochschule für Musik und der Kunsthochschule Mainz. Es richtet sich an Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -künstlerinnen dieser Bereiche, die eine wissenschaftliche Karriere anstreben und Führungsverantwortung übernehmen wollen. Namensgeberin ist die französische Schriftstellerin und Philosophin Christine de Pizan (1365 - nach 1430), die als erste Autorin der französischen Literatur gilt, die von ihren Werken leben konnte.

Format: Im Rahmen eines Eins-zu-Eins-Mentoring werden Mentees ein Jahr lang durch eine erfahrene Mentorin/ einen erfahrenen Mentor aus Universität, außeruniversitärer Wissenschaft oder Kunst persönlich begleitet. Ein Rahmenprogramm für Mentees bietet Möglichkeiten zur Reflektion, zum Netzwerken und zur Weiterbildung
Zeitaufwand: rund vier persönliche Treffen über einen Zeitraum von zwölf Monaten (=ein Programmzyklus); Auftakt- und Abschlussveranstaltung (fakultativ)
Termine: Termine für persönliche Treffen flexibel
Interessiert? » Weitere Informationen und Kontakt

 

 

 


Edith Heischkel Mentoring-Programm (Universitätsmedizin Mainz)

 

Mit dem Edith Heischkel-Mentoring-Programm fördert die Universitätsmedizin Mainz hochqualifizierte Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen unterschiedlicher, in der Regel naturwissenschaftlicher Fachrichtungen. Das Programm ist nach Prof. Dr. Edith Heischkel-Artelt benannt, der ersten ordentlichen Professorin für Medizin an der JGU.

Format: Im Rahmen eines Eins-zu-Eins-Mentoring werden Mentees ein Jahr lang durch eine erfahrene Mentorin/ einen erfahrenen Mentor aus Universität oder Wirtschaft persönlich begleitet. Das Programm wird für Mentees ergänzt durch Workshops und Netzwerkveranstaltungen.
Zeitaufwand Treffen alle sechs bis acht Wochen über einen Zeitraum von zwölf Monaten (=ein Programmzyklus)
Termine flexibel
Interessiert? » Weitere Informationen und Kontakt

  
 


mentMAINZ
Mentoring-Programm an der Graduiertenschule MAterials science IN mainZ (MAINZ)

Promotionsstudentinnen und –studenten der Graduiertenschule MAINZ können sich für das mentMAINZ Mentoring Programm bewerben. Dieses ist auf die berufliche Orientierung für die Zeit nach der Promotion ausgerichtet. Ziel des Mentorings ist für die Promovierenden, eine klare Vorstellung über die beruflichen Perspektiven zu entwickeln, hilfreiche Strategien für den Weg zur Zielerreichung auszuloten und das berufliche Netzwerk auszuweiten. Je nach gewünschtem Einsatzgebiet der Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden kommen die Mentorinnen/Mentoren aus der privaten Wirtschaft, der Wissenschaft, der Verwaltung oder aus dem Dienstleistungs- oder Beratungssektor. Die meisten Mentees wünschen sich eine Mentorin oder einen Mentor mit einem materialwissenschaftlichen oder naturwissenschaftlichen Hintergrund.

Format:

Im Rahmen eines Ein-Zu-Eins-Mentorings werden die Mentees ein Jahr lang von den Mentorinnen/Mentoren persönlich begleitet. In dieser Zeit sind vier persönliche Treffen zwischen Mentorin/Mentor und Mentee erwünscht. Diese 12-monatige Mentoring-Beziehung ist in eine 18-monatige Prozessbegleitung mit Gruppen-Coachings zur beruflichen Orientierung eingebettet.

Zeitaufwand: vier persönliche Treffen über einen Zeitraum von zwölf Monaten (= ein Programmzyklus)
Termine: jährlicher Programmstart
Mentoring-Beziehung jeweils ab Juli/August
Interessiert? » Weitere Informationen und Kontakt