Welcome to your university

President's Welcome

Dear alumni,

it’s a great pleasure for me to welcome you here on our alumni website. You spent some time, perhaps even some of the most formative years of your life at Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz and I sincerely hope that it is with pleasure that you look back on your time here, on the city of Mainz, and your alma mater.

Johannes Gutenberg, the namesake of our university founded in 1477, embodies the concepts of innovation and technological progress and stands for the idea of crossing boundaries and promoting broad access to knowledge. The spirit of the university motto, ut omnes unum sint (That they may all be one), acts as our guiding principle. Let’s keep in touch with each other and join us in creating a lively, multi-generational network for everyone who studied, taught, researched, or worked at Mainz University – and for all those who are still studying or active here today. We offer networking opportunities and long-term participation in the current developments at JGU as well as career services, continuing education measures, and numerous recreational activities.

You as our alumni are a part of the history, the present, and the future of our university. Each and every one of you has their own unique personal experience of JGU. You all act as national and international ambassadors for Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz and are a link between education and practice, between lecture hall and professional world, between our Gutenberg campus and your current location.

Would you too like to be involved? Register, take advantage of our range of services for Gutenberg alumni, contribute your experiences and expertise, and share with us your ideas on the future of 'your' JGU. We are looking forward to hearing from you!
 

Professor Georg Krausch
President of Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz

Willkommen an Ihrer Universität!

Grußwort des Präsidenten


Liebe Alumnae, liebe Alumni,

ich begrüße Sie herzlich und freue mich sehr, dass Sie unsere Alumni-Seiten besuchen. Sie haben einige Zeit, vielleicht sogar prägende Jahre, an der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz verbracht und ich hoffe, dass Sie gerne an diese Zeit, an Mainz und an Ihre Alma Mater zurückdenken.

Johannes Gutenberg, der Namensgeber unserer 1477 gegründeten Universität, steht für innovative Ideen und Technologien, für eine Grenzen überschreitende Perspektive und einen breiten Zugang zum Wissen. Diesem Geist und dem Wahlspruch der JGU, ut omnes unum sint („Dass alle eins seien”), fühlen wir uns verpflichtet. Lassen Sie uns in diesem Sinn Verbindung halten und gemeinsam ein lebendiges, generationsübergreifendes Netzwerk schaffen:  Für alle, die an der JGU studiert, gelehrt, geforscht oder in anderen Funktionen gearbeitet haben - und für alle, die heute hier studieren oder tätig sind. Wir bieten Ihnen Kontaktmöglichkeiten und dauerhafte Teilhabe an aktuellen Entwicklungen an der JGU, Career Service, Weiterbildungsprogramme und zahlreiche Freizeitaktivitäten.

Sie, liebe Alumnae und Alumni, sind Teil der Geschichte und zugleich Teil der Gegenwart und der Zukunft unserer Universität. Jede und jeder von Ihnen hat eigene, ganz persönliche Erfahrungen an der JGU gesammelt; Sie alle aber sind national wie international Botschafter der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz und bilden unsere Brücke zwischen Wissenschaft und Praxis, zwischen Hörsaal und Berufsalltag, zwischen dem Mainzer Gutenberg-Campus und Ihrem heutigen Standort.

Sind Sie dabei? Registrieren Sie sich, nutzen Sie unsere vielfältigen Angebote für Gutenberg-Alumni, bringen Sie Ihre Erfahrung und Ihre Expertise ein, geben Sie Impulse für die Weiterentwicklung "Ihrer" JGU. Wir freuen uns, mit Ihnen in Kontakt zu bleiben!

Ihr
Univ.-Prof. Dr. Georg Krausch
Präsident der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz